22/10, 18.00 h, 20.30 h
Anežský klášter


Solo and trio concerts mark jazz piano master’s Prague debut

Piano: Fred Hersch


Double bass: John Hébert

Drums: Eric McPherson





In the wee small hours Mann-Hillard

Whisper Not Golson

Brigas Nunca Mais Jobim


All of me Simons & Marks

Eronel Monk

And So It Goes B. Joel

Blue Monk Monk

When I’m 64 McCartney





Cockeyed optimist Rodgers

Turnaround O. Coleman

This Is Always I. Berlin

Snape Maltings


Begin Again

Pannonica Monk

Bemsha Swing Monk

Wichita Lineman J. Webb


All comp. Fred Hersch unless otherwise noted.



Duration SOLO: 60 min


Duration TRIO: 75 min


An undisputed great of jazz piano, Fred Hersch comes to Strings of Autumn this year for his first ever performances in Prague, with two distinct concerts on one night in the intimate space of Saint Agnes’ Convent. He will perform a solo recital, followed by a separate concert with his trio.


Hersch’s famed lyrical performances – emotionally direct, technically superior, fiercely individualistic – make each of his concerts an event. He is a 14-time Grammy nominee and has been decribed as a ‘living legend’ by The New Yorker, while former Strings artist and fellow pianist, Jason Moran, simply says of him: ‘Fred at the piano is like LeBron James on the basketball court. He’s perfection.’